Home > Everything Else > You’re Not Paranoid

You’re Not Paranoid

Thanks WordPress! Ever since you liked my cat photo, this blog has soared to new heights of popularity! And then plummeted straight back down, but that’s to be expected.

What I wasn’t expecting was the spam. So much spam! How much spam? Five spams an hour, that’s how much spam! 90% of my blog readership is now comprised of: spam!

You’re not paranoid: they really are trying to teach you about Little Tikes Electronic Sounds Gas Pumpers. Whatever that is.

The spam is completely without rhyme or reason. Since it’s mostly responding to a post about camping, you would assume a lot of it would be camping related, and some of it is. For instance, here’s an ad for vacation getaways, and even more to the point, there’s a pingback from a website called 8persontent.org, which seems awfully specific to me. You go there and it’s full of collected bits of wisdom from around the net about people camping in tents, along with pictures of — you guessed it — eight-person tents.

But then there’s the really strange stuff.

Fisher-Price Laugh & Learn Learning Puppy and Little Tikes Swing Along Castle are just two of the items that bartonseek.com would like to sell the readers of Logical Point, and who wouldn’t be impressed with marketing detail that includes such information as “Dog bone collar lights up to the music” and “Helps baby understand connections between words and images”? Especially in connection to an article that featured beer, techno music and naked people in hot tubs?

What are some codes for Super Mario 64 DS that allows me to play different characters?” ask the proprietors of mario64ds.org, perhaps detecting the insouciant, yearning quality in my prose when I talked about failing to actually fall asleep on prescription sleep medicine. Likewise, I’m sure I set myself up for “Chinese pregnancy calendar?” when I talked about snot. I don’t know how they sussed out the fact that I’m secretly a pregnant Chinese lady through such a minimal evidence set, but they did it.

And then there’s “Tooth Brushing Tricks For Your Dog.” I always thought you just gave them a charcoal biscuit, but carry on, by all means, carry on…

For “Front Porch Ideas For Exploding Your Home’s Curb Appeal,” though, I got nothing. I humbly accept defeat, Monsieur OutdoorCushions.org.uk. You may now use my longform web blog pagesite for any purpose you desire.

Categories: Everything Else Tags:
  1. makemeadiva
    August 12, 2010 at 14:15

    People are so fickle. You might be stuck with just me and Monsieur OutdoorCushions.

    • August 12, 2010 at 22:52

      I’d be ok with that. Please be my friend! You and Cushions Dude. Cat pix for ev’rybody, alla time.

  2. August 13, 2010 at 00:48

    The spam might make me want to reconsider being Freshly Pressed but on the other hand, it does make for a good laugh and great posting!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

