Home > Everything Else > The Unexpurgated Edition

The Unexpurgated Edition

First, I got featured on Freshly Pressed for my camping post, which made my mailbox explode. It was an interesting surprise, and the hit counter continues to spin like in the Looney Tunes reels when the wolf bursts through the chimney after being expelled from the cooking pot when the steam builds up from the fire built by the pigs. Via the cuckoo clock.

Second, I have no idea what to do with all this newfound attention. If you’re here reading this, thanks for visiting. I generally update at least once a day, unless I’m off dripping mucous all over other people at a group campout in the woods.

Third, I can’t stop thinking about the cat in the little cat tent I used to illustrate the camping post. That tent has a closable flap, with Velcro seals and little string ties to raise the flap. My question is:

Who’s going to seal a cat in a tiny tent like that?

Would that be a good idea? Do cats like being shut up in tiny, enclosed spaces with no way to get out except through, well, punching and tearing? Maybe if the cat needed some privacy, I could see that, cats like to go off for quiet time by themselves, but then you’d face the next problem, which is that cats have no thumbs and therefore can’t work the little strings that tie the flap, and they also probably haven’t figured out Velcro, so it’s not very likely that they’ll be sealing themselves shut, either.

WHO IS THIS TENT FOR? Or maybe that is a normal sized tent and that cat is GINORMOUS. In any case, if I was a cat I’d write a letter of complaint to the manufacturer. If I had thumbs, that is.

Next item: this is the second straight camping trip which ended in sadness and sickness. But not nearly as much dust this time.

Fifthly, VIEWER MAIL. Reader “Dennis” from “California” posits:

I hate to say this, but your new found popularity is probably simply due to having a picture of a cat on your post. Perhaps this is an opportunity for SCIENCE! Start using more cat pictures, say about every third post, and see how it affects your post-by-post ratings (as measured by comment counts and cross linking)

Well Dennis, I’m willing to go there if you’re willing to provide the Venn Diagrams. Set the Crazy Machine to “infinity,” Doctor, and let’s Cat It Up….

(note: the fourth item was cleverly hidden.)

Categories: Everything Else Tags: ,
  1. LJ
    August 10, 2010 at 12:50

    I fear my spoiled rotten cat would shit on my face when i was sleeping if i EVER put him in something as redonkulous as the tent in that photo………….The only cat I could possibly imagine dealing w/ a personal cat tent was named Skippy (the magicalcampingcat).

  2. August 10, 2010 at 14:04

    LJ :I fear my spoiled rotten cat would shit on my face when i was sleeping if i EVER put him in something as redonkulous as the tent in that photo………….).

    Yeah…that tent is a little redonkulous…but I do agree. The cat:attraction to blog ratio is quite high I believe.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

