Home > Everything Else, Food, Music, Spock, Sports > Camping Is Fun

Camping Is Fun

Day One
Sore throat, packing, sore throat, packing, cough drops (the mediciney kind, makes your throat numb for a whole hour), packing, driving, random ear/sinus pain, sore throat, driving, getting lost, earhurt, tent building activities, food, beer, talk, beer, talk,Β SORE THROAT, go to sleep.

Day Two
Wake on two hours sleep, sniffle, cough, coffee, eat cereal, blow nose, walk around, drain sinuses, eat lunch, beer, wash dishes, stuff kleenex up nose, nap, more stuff up nose, try to breathe, nap, wake up not breathing, nap, drain, replace kleenex, find iPod, DJ for naked people, dinner, whisky, change clothes, blow nose, sniffle, cough, take Ambien, sleep. But not before Ambien Walrus visits and makes a few suggestions, like “you should get in your car and drive around!” Ignore Ambien Walrus, sleep.

Day Three
Sleep fitfully for 12 hours, wake up way past noon, miss breakfast, forget to drink coffee, try to get up, curse the sunlight, lay on table, groan, move to lawn, groan, go back to tent, sleep, groan, cough, shiver, fever, take ibuprofen, cough, shiver, blanket, sleep, get up before darktime, stare at food, groan, find out you’ve had another shift added to DJ list: “11PM – ???”; consider career as jedi and/or Ambien Walrus, complain to no one in particular, beer, chocolate, improbable comeback, mood improving, fever gone, (there may or may not have been dancing at this point), spin superhits of the Super 70s, “naked guy from hot tub thanks you for the Golden Earring,” thank them for their support by playing Mark E. Smith shouting over German techno, beer, talk, chocolate, klowns, talk, whisky, sleep.

Day Four
Drive home. Sleep. Think about how much fun it is camping with friends.

Categories: Everything Else, Food, Music, Spock, Sports Tags: ,
  1. August 10, 2010 at 07:18

    I love camping, despite how uncomfortable the whole experience is. Somehow, I always manage to catch poison ivy, even when wearing 3 pairs of pants.

  2. Raul
    August 10, 2010 at 07:21

    lol…thanks for the play by play. πŸ™‚ Hope you are feeling better.

    http://www.wutevs.wordpress.com

  3. August 10, 2010 at 07:23

    Sounds like it may have been “beer, beer, beer, beer, etc.” You get the point. LOL

  4. August 10, 2010 at 07:23

    Weird… it’s like you’re spying on my camping trips. How did you know my exact routine?!? Haha
    Great post!

  5. August 10, 2010 at 07:29

    Yup…that sounds about right…

    Camping is grand…

  6. August 10, 2010 at 07:36

    Man…I don’t even like camping when I feel good. I mean I’m a fan of campfires — but I really like my bed.

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

  7. August 10, 2010 at 07:40

    πŸ™‚ Funny post. I especially enjoy the cat photo.

    At least it didn’t rain?

  8. Tom Baines
    August 10, 2010 at 07:41

    You missed:

    Get incomprehensibly wet from unseasonable week-long downpour. Contract flu. In July. Throw away tent because it’s too wet and muddy to pack back up. Drive home…

  9. makemeadiva
    August 10, 2010 at 07:43

    Oh yes. This is way better than my camping trip last week – you got some sleep πŸ˜‰

  10. August 10, 2010 at 07:54

    I thought the same – e.g. camping is FUN. It WAS fun, hiking all day long in the alps, setting up tent, cooking dinner on camping kitchen, eating, having some wine… going to bed.. waking up 2 hours later realizing it’s FREEZING outside and altitude is not good for late-summer-camping πŸ™‚ anyway, nice one (post)!!! (oh, and if you ever feel like learning german in 5 minutes, come visit me… or… just see some of my other tales… )

  11. sayitinasong
    August 10, 2010 at 08:27

    Dancing to superhits from the super 70s!!! Wish I had been there!!! :o)

  12. August 10, 2010 at 08:39

    They really make animal tents? Hmmm, perhaps I should get one for my pups:)

  13. August 10, 2010 at 08:40

    This is the kind of camping I like! πŸ˜€

    http://sylviangirl.wordpress.com/

  14. Abenarabi
    August 10, 2010 at 09:00

    This reminds me of my last camp a week ago, it was ten days but it was like 10 days in the World War I!

  15. August 10, 2010 at 09:01

    This sounds like most of the camping trips I’ve ever taken. Minus the German techno.

  16. August 10, 2010 at 09:05

    I wonder what percentage of supposedly fun things we do for the sole purpose so that we can talk about them later on. Pictures serve as evidence how beautiful the setting was and how much fun we had.

    http://www.wordsfromawoman.wordpress.com

  17. Twan
    August 10, 2010 at 09:11

    Where are you camping?

  18. August 10, 2010 at 09:25

    I love that photo! πŸ™‚

  19. August 10, 2010 at 09:26

    funny post !! Yes camping is better when fully in shape for sure !! I like your picture!!

  20. August 10, 2010 at 09:51

    I love that first shower after coming into the city after camping.

    Chris
    http://dailyjobfinder.wordpress.com

  21. August 10, 2010 at 10:36

    Tragic and hilarious, just like a lot of camping trips. I can totally relate.

  22. August 10, 2010 at 10:59

    You could not make me leave my bed for camping if I didn’t feel good. But this was really funny to read – bad Ambien Walrus, bad.

  23. August 10, 2010 at 11:06

    Camping is soo damn fun, but it has a tendency to be a bit tragic too πŸ™‚ I dont think Ive been camping one time without anything strange happening.. worst was when I got the sleeping place ON A ROCK.. no matter how i tried it was always under my back.. and ants biting etc πŸ™‚ Still I LOVE camping πŸ™‚

    Hope you are feeling better
    hugs

  24. August 10, 2010 at 11:48

    Never been visited by the Ambien Walrus but the kids love to camp in the backyard. Hopefully your next camping trip will only have Ambien penguins.

  25. August 10, 2010 at 12:03

    Great post and congrats on Freshly Pressed! Love the cat photo too, by the way. πŸ™‚

    Sounds like you had a miserable time! If it makes you feel any better though, I had a similar experience, sans naked people. It was one of the worst sniffling, sneezing, coughing, aching, stuffy head experiences of my life on a 16 plane ride between Dublin and Seattle.

    Sinus infections and transatlantic flights? Not recommended.

    Natina

    http://crosswordcharlie.wordpress.com/
    http://humansareassholes.wordpress.com/

  26. Ghost Writer
    August 10, 2010 at 12:19

    I am reminded of the time we took our cat camping and she decided to climb the nearest tree! She enjoyed the beach though.

  27. Cherry
    August 10, 2010 at 12:57

    I wanna switch careers and become an ambien walrus too! What do you suppose the training program looks like?

  28. mts
    August 10, 2010 at 13:01

    I had all the camping I need from when I was in the Army. Wet all the time (either from sweat or rain), covered in grime, b.o., bug bites, and rashes, and all the grunt work in setting up and taking down the canvas tents. Oh, and my dread of snakes makes sleeping in a bag on the ground so relaxing.

    Yes, using my own bathroom, the nice long shower, changing into loose sweats, and falling asleep as I collapse in MY bed for the night. I’ve had 40,000 invites to go camping (it’s sooooo fun) and have a bunch camping this weekend, but I consider sleeping over on someone’s couch, or floor with my coat rolled up under my head, roughing it, so use that benchmark to determine how much I loathe real camping.

  29. August 10, 2010 at 13:07

    i absolutely LOVE this cat in his camping tent! and sometimes it’s just greener when you’re looking back on the experience. hahahaha! πŸ™‚ camping does sound fun though!

  30. momuillustrator
    August 10, 2010 at 13:27

    I love this cat in a tent! Georgeus!

  31. August 10, 2010 at 13:42

    Is that your cat in the little tiny tent? That’s soooooo cute! I love cats and I’ve always wanted to take mine camping. How did your cat like it? Where did you get that little tiny tent for him? I would like to purchase one for when I take my cat camping!!

    • August 10, 2010 at 13:45

      You’re evil.

      • August 10, 2010 at 13:57

        But, how did your cat like the camping?
        And the tent?

  32. August 10, 2010 at 14:00

    Hahaha, oh I hate camping! And your camping experience sounds better than mine. Sadly enough.

  33. August 10, 2010 at 14:21

    I’ve never met the Ambien Walrus, but the Tylenol PM Cowboy once spoke to me for a minute.

  34. vitalta
    August 10, 2010 at 14:40

    hahahah you make me laugh a lot, hahaha, well my friend the true is that if we take more comfortable stuff for traveling, we will be more busy, I think we most take just the necessary, a knife, a watter bottle, some bread and cheese, and if you like some cans with sald or tuna. Oh please dont forget the camera

  35. deadwednesdays
    August 10, 2010 at 14:41

    AWWWW. Sounds like it would have been such fun if you just weren’t sick. =P Hate when stuff like that happens. Hope you go again whenever you feel awesome.

    Hope you feel better. I’ve always wanted to go camping. My favorite thing you did:

    Day Two: ” DJ for naked people”

    This whole thing is really quite hilarious. πŸ˜€

  36. knivesandflames
    August 10, 2010 at 15:01

    camping is very fun when you take with you a large bbq and eat all type of meat the night

  37. August 10, 2010 at 16:06

    I’ve never been camping/to a festival and not enjoyed it. It sounds like there was a distinct amount of masochism going on there, which I can understand. Sometimes feeling like shit in a field is better than feeling fine in a shop/office. Check my blog for related “run to the fields” style bullshit. I just started my blog today.

  38. August 10, 2010 at 16:52

    haha good story. What is an ambien walrus?

    • August 10, 2010 at 17:09

      An Ambien Walrus appears after you take Ambien to fall asleep and then forget to fall asleep. It is considered an ill portent.

      • knivesandflames
        August 11, 2010 at 01:26

        its a magical creature then?

  39. August 10, 2010 at 16:54

    Super cute!!! The cat, I mean. And you are great, even with your condition, you are still going out to camp. You are a real nature-lover, do you? πŸ˜‰ Let next time be much much better and fun, when you can enjoy camping without any distraction on your health condition πŸ˜‰

  40. August 10, 2010 at 17:24

    I looove camping! I recently got back from a camping trip. You can read about my experience at http://offtrackbackpacking.com/2010/08/05/gone-camping/
    It was a bitter sweet experience. You’ll understand why!

  41. tifmoonfany
    August 10, 2010 at 20:43

    nice post.i mean camping is wonderful…lol.this post make me smile and feel better πŸ™‚
    tifmoonfany ( tifmoonfany.wordpress.com )

  42. August 10, 2010 at 21:23

    starts to downpour. forgot to pack gummies. shoes and socks become as wet as the mud surrounding the tent. hole in tent. tent becomes a pool. suppose a water bed is pretty cool.

  43. kadambi raghuram
    August 10, 2010 at 23:27

    Nice picture..looks like the Cat liked it.Any one seen my camping experience “A camping we will go”?

  44. August 11, 2010 at 00:18

    Sounds a tough time. Somewhere I think you may missed the glory of the great outdoors! But everything depends on the weather, of course – cold and wet = horrible, great weather = luxury!

  45. August 11, 2010 at 02:31

    i love camping…it make my know the world. visit back on my blog, pls…thanks

  46. August 11, 2010 at 03:29

    He he. I haven’t read anything like this before. You have unbelievable amounts of laziness to type out more words, haven’t you ?

  47. August 11, 2010 at 06:27

    This is hilarious! My boyfriend wants me to go camping with him, and I’ve been putting him off using the “Haven’t you ever seen any horror movies?” argument.

    But this may work better.

  48. August 11, 2010 at 07:27

    Unfortunately (or fortunately, depending on how one looks at it), I’ve never been camping before. I’m a fan of the great outdoors, but it just doesn’t seem to agree with my body; I always catch a sinus infection or get bitten by a bug or two, no matter what measures I take to protect myself! 😦
    Let’s hope you have a better experience the next time you go… In the meantime, I will contiue to venture out until mother nature agrees with me! πŸ™‚

  49. August 12, 2010 at 01:51

    Well what’s camping without the colds and sniffs when you get home, but I’m pretty sure those are nothing compared to the joy and happiness you experience.

  50. August 13, 2010 at 16:13

    It doesn’t sound like a fun but I want to comment how cute that picture is with the cat! Do they actually make pet tents?

  51. August 15, 2010 at 08:32

    cute kitty.

  52. August 16, 2010 at 11:40

    Haha, I’ve always wanted to go camping. Just hope I’m not sick when I do it πŸ˜›

    milliondollardanny.wordpress.com

  53. tentmaker623
    August 26, 2010 at 03:17

    Know this sounds cynical but if you know cats like I do he’s most likely fine, just being a cat and justifying his aloofness. Camping is so very, very cool…….under the right circumstances of course.

  54. September 1, 2010 at 23:50

    Camping and having a great musical event.. wt a combo it can be…

  55. February 4, 2011 at 11:32

    hm. you bring out some fascinating ideas. With thanks for your novel take on this matter.

  1. August 10, 2010 at 07:45
  2. August 10, 2010 at 12:29
  3. August 10, 2010 at 22:38
  4. August 10, 2010 at 23:18
  5. August 11, 2010 at 00:06
  6. August 13, 2010 at 06:54
  7. August 17, 2010 at 00:00
  8. August 19, 2010 at 01:06
  9. April 3, 2011 at 00:11

Leave a Reply

